Showing posts with label clueless. Show all posts
Showing posts with label clueless. Show all posts

Monday, June 2, 2008

The one where everything was due

What was due you should ask? Well just realized that my road tax was due today and my driver's license has been expired since last week.
I only realized this morning. I thought my road tax was due at the end of the week. So I can plan the renewal process and not rush it. Good thing it was still valid for today and I had time to settle it. Well with the help of my insurance agent. Could have been settled earlier in the day if not for the downpour during lunch.
As for my driver's license I remember it was due come my mum's birthday (24th May). I guess it totally slipped my mind. At least everything was settled today.
What a Monday to start the week.

Monday, March 24, 2008

The one with the birthday gift hunting

It's that time of the year where I really have trouble with. Birthday gift hunting. I admit I very lousy when it comes to birthday gifts. And with a number of my friends birthday's coming up, I really caught in between a rock and hard place.
I remember somewhere last year I was at wits end looking for a gift. For me I want to get something practical. That's why 2006 was the easiest year for me. It was the year of the pashmina. They really make great gifts. But I can't keep giving them every year right.
Seriously if I can't figure out what to get I'll just make one of my origami cranes. Like they say, the best gifts are those made with our hands. Or something like that.
Anyways, any of you have any ideas?

Thursday, February 28, 2008

The one with the net reconnected

Finally I have access to the net. After being 'logged out' for the past 2 nights, its good to be back online. As for my previous post, well it was by request of an office colleague. And I watched Step Up 2 for the second time last night. Can't wait for the DVD.
So what’s new, or more like what’s the story. Well times haven't really been good as of late. Not sure whether if its due to fatigue or just bored stiff or in the words of philosopher Cobain 'life sucks.......'.
Well work for one is one thing. Not sure if you can call it reaching the crossroads but I'm at the point where I have no idea what I'm doing and I'm partially bored with what I'm doing. The only good thing is my hours which allows me to have a whole lot of free time. Maybe I want to try other products and get my name back in the market. I even thought of quitting and try to do something more fulfilling.
I had a chat with one of my strike-force futsal partner about this. For him, climbing the corporate ladder would require some backstabbing and making full use of your connections. But once you put your hand in the cookie jar, you can't get out. In my line of work, the payback is very lucrative, well back in 70s and 80s anyways. Now with the Central Bank's regulation, its not as easy as it use too. I want to do something which I'm more passionate about and really be in my element. Sadly, there isn't a market for that line of work.
Another discussion with an office colleague who partially has the same issues as me. However for him its different. He has to think about his family before making his move. How to provide the basic necessities for his wife and kids. As for me, sink or swim I'm on my own.
Futsal wise for me as late has not been good. Haven't really been my creative-inspirational-genius-self. But that’s something I can overcome in time. Just need the 'me-against-the-world' mentality to get my edge back.
Another note is my relationship with women. I don't know why as of late, when I go out with a girl, the chemistry isn't there. Not that there should be instant chemistry (which would be great and save me the trouble). Its like 'we just don't click'. There isn't really anything in common to talk about or the wavelength is totally off. I know opposites are good, even my ex-girlfriend was an opposite of me but we found some common ground somewhere. Its not like I'm asking for a girl who is a Spurs fan. Just someone I can click with.
Sometimes I feel like I'm to careful and play my cards close to my chest. Too scared to get hurt again. To scared to be betrayed/cheated/lied too again. Some say that I don't express my emotions anymore and I’m too wooden. Some say I'm too choosy, but is being careful choosy? Some even said because I treat the whole thing as a game.
Thinks that one long post today. Must be due to the 'logged out' factor.

Tuesday, January 29, 2008

The one with no cool title I can think off (again)

As you can see I can't think a title that relates to what I'm posting. Well mainly its about futsal earlier tonight and some random life ramblings.
Well futsal Tuesday was great fun. I was in the groove and everything flowed swimmingly. My game tonight was full of well choreographed goals and brilliant playmaking. Been some time since I had a game where things just fell into place. Lost count of the number of goals I've scored and also assists made. But it was nice to get in the groove again.
Earlier at work I went through my appraisal. But it was more a kopi-ais and teh-o with my boss at the building's cafe. We kept it short and simple and very casual. We also discussed about a lot of things among them was that he thinks I should try my luck in foreign shores in either Singapore or Dubai. As he doesn't see much growth and also the fact that I'm not really tied down to anyone. Honestly if the opportunity arises I will go as it would be great if I could get a fresh start where no one knows my name (and also my past). I also told my boss that I want to try my hand in other products. However current market situation, the products are there but not the volume and yields. And he did mention I can get lonely if I move to certain desks. My current desk is probably the most fun desk in the department. And also I love the hours, allows me to have time to hang with my friends.
Alrighty then, I'm really running out of ideas. Good night and good luck.

Friday, January 4, 2008

The one where I still have no creative title

Well actually this post is about two things. But putting both on the title would be too obvious. Have to start thinking of some new titles.
First of all, I was watching the Barrack Obama speech after he won in Iowa. Not sure what was going on but the focus of attention is his speech. Very powerful and well delivered. I'm not going into detail of his speech, but I want to highlight one line he used. He said 'its not about me, its about you'. Something I believe he picked up from Dale Carnegie's How to Win Friends and Influence People. His speech was not talking about himself, he was making the audience feel important. And he pulled it off sincerely, which a lot of people are not able to do.
Second part is a lot of my office mates noticed that I've gain a certain amount of mass and the fact I look larger than advertised. Not a good thing and for a guy who plays futsal a lot this shouldn't happen. But it is my own doing, I have been eating a lot these days. So guess now have to find way to rectify it. Now that can be my 2008 resolution, to lose weight.
Now to start a workout regime.

Wednesday, January 2, 2008

The one with no title I can think off

So 2008 is two days old. Lets just say it didn't really get off to the best of starts.
Anyways, I just want to post something (as well as a video after this) about what my boss said during lunch. He once attended and interview to enter a prestigious university in England. The interviewer asked 'If you had one power to make the world a better place, what would it be?'. When my boss asked me that in my mind I was thinking diabolical schemes which would probably destroy the human race. But his answer really hit me (and also the interviewer). The power to change people's attitude. Simple and deep., the world we live in is in its state today because of attitude. We can achieve great heights, if we change our attitude towards our surroundings. Think about it.
There you go, something to ponder.

Tuesday, January 1, 2008

The one with the new year

Happy New Year fellow readers. I know I'm suppose to to a recap of 2007 post but just so no in the flow of writing. The creative juices just aren't flowing. Hope you all had a blast last night and all the best for 2k8.
So what about my new year resolutions? Hmmm...honestly I don't really have one, then again I'm not the guy who makes these resolutions. As I know it will be broken. Besides never really thought of one anyways.
Anyways, I don't know where this post is going. Well maybe I'll just write about my highlights for the year. Well 2007 was the year I've finally change my employers name. A huge relief when I finally made the move, as I wasn't getting any love from my previous gig. What else? I guess I managed to put together a highlight reel of futsal plays and goals, sexy-futsal-style. Too bad it will all remain in my head. Should really get ESPN to record our games. Something for the kids to learn. Can't really think of anything more at the moment (I do hope there's more). Maybe just not thinking straight yet.
As for 2007 lows, guess I could really list a whole lot of them. Stupid costly mistakes. Words left unsaid. And more costly mistakes and errors. And to think I should have learn from them.
Anyways, I'm now so not in the mood. So here's to a productive year.

Wednesday, November 21, 2007

The one with 3 days in one post

So an eventful first half to the week. And no I did not go to the Nadal-Gasquest game. Speaking of which if the names don't end with an 'ova' then I'm not interested in going.
Well on Monday I joined my office colleagues for a round of badminton. I have not played for almost a year so my game was expected to be off. But to my surprise I played at a reasonable level and still have court awareness except at times I know in my mind I can make / get that shot. Also there was a basketball court nearby so I shot some hoops for a bit. Well at least my mechanics were still there, just wrist management needed work. Nice to see so rainbow-high-arcing shots go through the hoop. My office colleagues plan to make it a weekly event so probably I have a chance to work on my game. Find that level of semi-Jordan-esque.
Tuesday was futsal as usual. Sadly as of late the numbers for the Tuesday group has been disappointing. I have to call up most of my Saturday group friends to join. Even an hour before game time I still can't confirm whether the game is on. But this group has been playing together for the past 5 years, but I have to understand that family commitments and work is a factor. Also not forgetting injuries and surgeries. Due to 'age' some people don't heal as Wolverine-like as before. Even myself have been playing hurt after pulling a hamstring last Friday. But due to unconvincing numbers I have to make an appearance. Knowing me, I still haven't learn to pace myself and still insist of playing at a high-sexy-football level. But I decided to rest for Wednesday and Friday sessions, but will return for Saturday's kick-off.
Earlier today, I had to report to our disaster-recovery-site for our annual training. Had a rough morning as a lot of calls directed to me as well as certain clients who just want to make things difficult. If only I mastered the art of force-choking via the telephone. To me it was more of a disaster there than a real-life disaster.
Had a small discussion with my boss towards end of day since everything that needs to be done has been done. More like filling in the time before leaving. My boss has been trying to make me embrace 'The Game' and use it in daily life. He even asked me to ask one of the girls from the site out for drinks (part of my KPI he says). Well I didn't do it as I know that the girl he suggested is already seeing someone. However he did advise one thing, when asking a girl out get rid of that ridiculous grin of yours. Try to act serious and cool. So now I think I should learn to stop grinning that ridiculous grin of mine, which maybe could be why girls don't take me seriously.
So how do I stop grinning that grin I do?

Sunday, November 18, 2007

The one with why I have not been blogging much as of late (and it's not because of Facebook)

I'm not sure if any of you noticed, but it seems my posts these days are a dying breed. Well you can put the blame Football Manager 2008. The game that keeps you up late at night and still have you thinking tactics when you go to sleep.
Well been actively playing FM2008 these days. Trying to lead my beloved Spurs to glory. And it safe to say I do a better job than the previous Spurs managers who probably underachieved. Been in charge for two seasons already and just started my third. My accomplishments in my first season was the League Cup and UEFA cup. Finished second in the league in my first season pipping Manyoo for second spot on the last day of the season (somehow Chelski won the title with 4 games to spare). My second season was even better than the first. Won the Premiership (won it on the last game of the season also), defended my League cup and here's a surprise the Champions League also. But honestly I had an easy draw to the finals with the big teams knocking each other out and also surprise packages going deep in the tournament. More reasons I should have applied for the Spurs managerial post when Martin Jol was sacked/resigned.
If you would excuse me, I'm off to start my third season in charge.

Monday, October 29, 2007

The one with all the open houses (to date)

Been some time since I posted anything. For once, I'm not blaming Facebook, but the internet speed. Ridiculously slow, and I've seen glaciers mover faster. Not sure whats wrong, but been slow since raya.
Anyways I've attended a number of open houses (both clients and friends) so I guess my 10 kilos lost has been added back to my body weight. So much for being the lean mean futsaling machine.
Quite a number of open houses but I'll just tell a bit about the more fun and interesting open houses. Well there was the MAVCAP open house, where I met someone very interesting. But I guess it just ends there as she didn't leave her business card but will try to find further business opportunities. Then ShahFaizah's open house which had a very modern twist. A mixture of both local and Western dishes. Then Hazeriq's open house which was done at a grand scale. Well his parents are planning to sell the house so I guess they invited some potential buyers. He even gave us a tour of his house and I wanted to try out his PS3, but it was being hogged by his relatives. And I just got back from MRB's open house. They are one of my clients who I'm quiet close to. So we just hang and chat till it was almost closing time.
Well one of the bosses did highlight something which I should really think about. He mention that I am a little 'old' and too late to get married. (By the way, for your info I'm on the wrong side of 20). By the time I get married I would have changed the 'big figure' and by the time I was my first born I probably be in my mid-30s. So by the time I want to plan my retirement, my kid would probably be entering college and still need financial backing. I was like 'damn, I really need to be some superstar tycoon or rock-god to ensure financial security'. Maybe I should really rethink my plans (like I had one anyways).
A lot more to write, but beginning to get sleepy.

Tuesday, September 4, 2007

The one with the post without any direction and theme aka random ramblings

Merdeka has come and gone. Now we all return to our relatively normal boring daily routine (well me anyways). Nothing much has happen after the Merdeka karaoke. Kept pretty much to myself indoors playing Madden and playing futsal with the Friday and Saturday groups.
Well futsal Friday had a new female addition to the team. Didn't catch a name (don't know why I always keep forgetting to get a name). Anyways she a girlfriend of one of the college students that join the group. All I can say is I'm impressed on what she can do. She's small in stature as well as speedy Gonzalez like. She's mastered the basics as well as can perfect one-two moves, hit a shot on target and the one thing I was most impressed is that she chipped the ball over 2 or 3 players to pass to an open man. Nows there something you don't see everyday. Anyways due to the large number I played in goal most of the time since I wanted to maximize playing time. She had three shots on target and I manage to keep two of them out. Her goal I conceded was expertly taken, one-on-one (my futsal groups play no defence), I was expecting her to go to my far post (as that's what I would do) but the took the shot to my near post and went past my right shoulder. Great goal and even I applauded the goal.
Futsal Saturday was normal. A lazy game as I think the lazy holiday got to everyone. As for futsal Tuesday, we had a large number and I spent most of the game in defence. But what I really don't understand why everyone thinks they are Cristiano Ronaldo. They feel they can beat and take on players when there isn't much playing room and you have 2 or 3 open teammates screaming for the ball. They didn't generate much offence and my attempts to build up play was foiled by my surprising failure to deliver my thread-through-the-needle like passes. At least I did my part by playing some defence including a goal line clearance.
As for work, I've been really slacking as of late. My main job functions I still perform at a high level. But its the small administrative details is where I've been slacking. Will spare the details, but I know I should do better.
Will be participating in a bowling tournament this weekend. Not much of a bowler, but just join for fun. Lets see how it goes.

Wednesday, August 29, 2007

The one with the blackout

Somehow the title sounds so damn familiar. Hang on a tick, its from Friends Season 1. One of the titles. Where Chandler was stuck in am ATM hall with a hot model and the rest of the friends telling each other stories in a candlelit room.
Been some time since my last post. Been busy playing Madden 08. Just finish my first season with the New York Giants. Led them to the Superbowl. Figured in American football you need a good quarterback, a very speedy-Gonzalez like running back (two of them would be better) and also speedy like defenders.
This morning part of Kuala Lumpur was hit with a blackout. Apparently some generator failure nearby. Good thing it happen after I step into the office and not when I was in the lift. Well, since this blackout happen at work there were no candlelit room stories to tell. Which would have been cool. Mostly it was who has to report to disaster recovery site and who has to stay back. I apparently had to stay back. We had power back after 2 hours and resume work as usual.
Well had a few interesting moments here and there during the week. Among them was chatting up with this chick at Starbucks whose name I forgot. When my boss ask who she was, I totally forgot (and I thought I was good with names). Also two days in a row I bump into 'you-know-who' friends. Seems been some time since they hang together, due to timing and workload. I myself mention I have not seen 'you-know-who' in ages. Suddenly flashbacks came into mind. Maybe I did have a chance, only (as always) I let it slip through my hands.
Well had an interesting discussion about friends with a friend of mine. We both have different views but I conclude its due to the schools we came from. Like I came from a normal neighbourly regular school where we all live within a mile radius within each other as well as growing up together going through the 'best days of our lives'. For others maybe because they went to boarding schools the bond is different. I have experienced both, and I have to say going to normal schools is a whole lot of fun.
Today when I meet up my schoolmates the togetherness is still there. For my boarding school mates, we have yet to cross paths (which is a good thing) because they all want to compare who is the high-flyer and most successful (being a rockstar doesn't count to them). The way they compare paths is one thing I don't want to face.
Most of my schoolmates have now moved all over the place, but somehow we all still keep in touch thanks to the wonder that is the Internet.

Thursday, July 26, 2007

The one with random ramblings

Where do I begin? My mind kinda messed up at the moment, so probably I be posting will probably not make any sense and wouldn't have any direction. Even I myself am not sure what I be typing. Guess I be going with the flow.
Well its been rainy season this whole week. Its a good thing when you are playing futsal as the outside temperature isn't like an oven. Usually when it rains during futsal, I seem to be more into the game and energetic as well as creative. Tuesday's session was a blast. We controlled the first half of the game with sexy futsal. But as the game wore on, the defence began shutting me down as well as fatigue kicking in, we lost control of the game as we didn't keep to the earlier sexy futsal tactics. But when my team was on fire, it was a joy to watch and be part of.
The rain has not help the past two nights though. I missed Wednesday futsal due to murderous traffic and missed my Thursday jog with office mates due to the falling water from the sky. Kinda feel inactive, two days without activity especially when I'm in my 'need-to-play-to keep-my-mind-off-personal-issues' mode. But maybe the rest has done some good, as fatigue has been a factor of late, probably due to work and stuff hanging on my shoulders.
As for my earlier post, I feel a whole lot better now. Told myself that nothing happened so just move on. Why get myself worked up about things that never happen.
This weekend my department is organizing a durian party at my boss's crib. Sounds like a whole lot of fun and probably another office activity without me jumping making noise (meaning karaoke).
Guess that's it for now. Should probably get some sleep soon. Thank God tomorrow is Flyday.

Saturday, July 21, 2007

The one where I hate this feeling I'm feeling

Here's a post where I'm trying to express what I'm feeling inside. Maybe to try to let out what is going on in my mind. As of late I do look a little lost. I'm not sure how this post will turn out, but just see where all the typing takes me. To sum it up in song, listen to James Morrison's The Pieces Don't Fit Anymore.
I'm the type of person who keeps everything inside regardless how I feel. I know its not good and probably be the death or currently downfall of me. For one, I keep my true feelings for someone inside. I care a lot for this particular someone but it seems we enjoy hanging with each other I fear we fallen into the 'friends zone'.
So why don't I just tell her how I feel. Well for one I don't want to spoil it all by saying something stupid like "I love you". And two, because the last time I did that it didn't turn out well. But that was probably ill-advised and wasn't really in my league.
If I was enjoying hanging with her, why do i feel like this. Earlier this week I suddenly felt what I felt was not there. Have I fallen out of whatever you call it. The timing sucks too. It happen on the week of her birthday. Her birthday just passed and I didn't get or done anything yet. Originally had something special planned, but deemed too much and probably would freak her out anyway. So had to change plans and for once I didn't have a back-up plan. I have been trying to look for a present but just couldn't think of anything sincerely. Totally my bad.
This 'falling-out-of' or 'drifting-away' phase is something I really hate going through. As now I just want to be alone. Stay in the solitary confinement of the four walls of my room, either playing games or surfing.
Why do I feel as such. Maybe reality hit me. Maybe it wasn't going anywhere long term. Maybe it hit me that she didn't feel the same way. Maybe we live different lives that I just wouldn't fit in. Maybe she is more happy where she is in her life. Maybe it will work. Maybe it will not work.
So in the end I bet you all are saying 'just tell her'. I would, but in my life, some things are better left unsaid.

Saturday, June 9, 2007

The one with the mixed-week

This whole week has been very mixed for me. There are days where things just 'clicked' into place and days where they 'clucked'. As of my last post, the only fun part of the week was futsal Tuesday.
Well it was only a matter of time before work gets to me. Mostly small stuff, so I'm trying to not let it get me. Issues with difficult customers and operations unit. I seriously believe my customer expects me to read her mind because she seems to have limits on words spoken per day and somewhat demanding just because she works with the big boys and has loads of funds which somehow still can't do deposits on clean basis. I make it a point to pick-out her contracts in the morning so when she calls I'm ready. But yesterday she was covering for her colleague and she didn't mention which was the accounts because she already confirmed earlier. Spent a good 5 minutes trying to find what I missed out. Well in the end a colleague of mine bailed me out.
Anyways not sure if any of you understood paragraph above. Honestly I do have trouble explaining what I do.
As for operations unit, well I don't mind if they pick on me for my mistakes, but if the contracts were not raised by me don't look for me. I believe the printouts do state contracted raised by whom. I know small stuff, but it does frustrate you especially when you need to get things done.
Last night join my new colleagues for a farewell gig. He's from the fixed-income desk so I figured I might as well join since I believe people are till wondering 'who the hell is that kid'. They organized a karaoke session at Neway, Berjaya Times Square. Solidified my reputation as a mic-hogger and they had to take the mic away from me. Honestly I did promise myself to behave and play nice, but it seems they were so passive. I tried to rock the joint but to no avail. So pretty much I made a fool of myself. And they didn't keep the play list moving. Wasted like a good ten minutes because people were still trying to pick a song. And there I was screaming in my head "oh my God!!!'. Didn't stay till the end as made last minute arrangements to meet a friend for drinks at Coffee Hut.
I believe the Coffee Hut session really saved the week. At least it ended on a positive note.

Saturday, March 10, 2007

300 and the aftermath

Went to watch 300 12.00 am show at GSC OU. It was pretty good. I've read some books about Spartans. So the beginning of the show wasn't all that Greek to me. The special effects and graphics were top-notch. The movie was based on Frank Miller's graphic novel on Battle of Thermopylae. I haven't read it yet, but if the directors kept in line with Mr Miller's writing, then they shouldn't go wrong.
The movie was about how 300 Spartans defended their country against 1million Persians. Pretty much a battle of tactical wits and blood, gore and violence. Lead by King Leonidas the Spartans manage to hold their own against whatever the Persians threw at them. The strategy was quite simple. Draw the large Persian armies to a narrow canyon where they can't take advantage of their numbers.
Overall it's a great movie and i highly recommend it to anyone in search of an entertaining history lesson.
After the movie, on our way to pay for parking, one of my friends got hit by a car. My friend unhappy that the driver was un-pedestrian-friendly gave the passengers a piece of her mind. Then again guess they don't take bruised ego's well and retaliated with words I don't think I want to write here (my blog is PG rated..I think). Another friend came in, and brought my friend away from the scene to prevent from matters getting worse.
After all that, we all decided to meet up at the 24-hour A&W in Petaling Jaya. Me and my friend were first to arrive, so we ordered first. At one counter two men were arguing about God knows what, and suddenly began throwing punches. Since no one was doing anything about it, I decided to intervene (which sadly I regret so doing) to calm things down. One of the guys had a cut at his lip and pushed me away with blood on his hands. Let's just say it was a bad day to be wearing white. Then one of the men left, so everybody went on their business. I went back to queuing to order my drink. Suddenly the man with the cut lip came charging in again after the other man. I intervened again (stupid) but at least a big guy came in to help calm the situation. That's when I decided I should just walk out and leave. Apparently one of the guys was drunk. I then called my friends and suggest change of plan. A&W was not safe. Then went to my car, change my t-shirt and wore back my office shirt from earlier in the day. We ended up going to Maju Curry House for drinks.
The sad part of this whole thing is that no one from A&W management or staff did anything to help. At least call the cops or something. They decided to ignore the safety of their patrons. Unless they call the cops later I wouldn't know. It's safe to say I wouldn't be dining there for a period of time.
Lesson learnt today, I now know the meaning of innocent bystander.

Wednesday, February 21, 2007

i have no idea

'i have no idea'
a line made popular by chandler from the tv series friends
which i use most of the time
and has been caught on by some of my friends
yup, me a big friends fan
during lazy weekends
i pull out my friends dvd collection and watch a few episodes
no matter how many times you watch
you still laugh your head off
even though you know the scene
its just like those mastercard ads
priceless
its hard to pick out a favourite episode
cause they're all good for a barrel of laughs
but guess their thanksgiving episodes are fun
theres one in every season
one that stands out for me is the one where ross got high
especially the scene where ross and monica were ratting each other out
as for favourite character...rachel
maybe its a jennifer aniston thing...or maybe its my greek connections..i don't know
so if you are bored or just in need of a good laugh
watch friends
cause they'll be there for you

Tuesday, February 20, 2007

blogging begins

greetings all
just got on the blogging bandwagon
which i believe now is standing room only
what should you expect
guess ramblings about me and everything that happens around me

as for the title
simply cause i like black
probably the only colour thats works with me
as for the reason i'm blogging
simply to bore the population to death