Showing posts with label futsal. Show all posts
Showing posts with label futsal. Show all posts

Monday, April 16, 2012

The one with another disastrous futsal tournament

Last Saturday 14th April 2012 was the 2nd edition of the EPL supporters club futsal tournament. It was bigger then the last tournament with a total of 12 teams. Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester United and Newcastle all sent 2 teams while Manchester City and Spurs sent 1 team.
Prior to the tournament we didn't really prepare well. All attempts for centralized training was met with lukewarm response and injuries. With that, I came into the tournament with zero expectations. And how wrong I was. I didnt know we were suppose to win the whole shindig. The best part was the players who never turn up for training are the ones demanding a win. 
First I'll get to the results. We drew our first game against Chelsea B 0-0 and I didn't see any playing time in that one. Next we lost to Man Utd A 2-3. I came in after half-time and we were already 2-down at that point. I came in and help stabilize the defence (sometimes you just need big guys at the back). I also got yellow-carded in that game. I was carded because I ran over a very small Man Utd player which I didn't see when going for a high ball. Funny call but it was against Man Utd. Craig pulled us level with 2 quick goals. Then disaster happened. I under hit a pass forward which was intercepted by a Man Utd player and I was caught out with a quick 1-2 counter. I was blamed for that goal which I owned up too. But the rest didn't accepted it. They claim that I should have been subbed because I was 'tired'. Well that was suppose to be their call on who comes in and out. My number wasn't called so I carried on. With that I knew I was going to be benched for the rest of the tournament. I missed our next 2 games, a 2-1 win over Arsenal A with goals from Leonard and Conrad and a 1-3 loss to Liverpool A with Conrad scoring our lone goal. We were already eliminated from the semis before our last game against Newcastle B. I was asked to start because there was nothing to play for. Due to be out cold, I wasn't ready for the game and made 2 early errors which lead to their goals in the first 3 minutes or so. Everyone was making me the scapegoat and then I had it. I walked out on the team, asked someone else to replace me. We lost 1-3 with Shahrul getting our goal. I didn't say goodbye to the team and walked back home straight after the game. The tournament was just across the road from my in-laws place so I decided to just walk to the tournament venue.
So i just played less then 8 minutes in the tournament from a total of 50 minutes playing time. Only played in 2 games while I was benched for the other 3. I didn't appreciate being made the scapegoat for the losses in which I played a part in. We didn't even prepare as a team. What do you expect? You think we can win by just showing up? Even Barcelona don't win without any preparation. With that I officially quit the team (like I was needed anyway). I will not make myself available for any future Spurs Malaysia futsal teams. 
A frustrating tournament and also a wasted weekend.


Thursday, January 12, 2012

The one with the poor service

Here is something different from all the sports related posts I've posted in 2012. Its about service and somehow either due to being in the wrong place at the wrong time or just damn dumb luck, I always seem to be the victim.
Let's begin with what use to be my favourite joint, Subway. As most of you know, I enjoy going to Subway. I promote it almost everyday on twitter. Every time and the Mrs go out, we must make sure there is a Subway chain in it. So one day, during lunch, I decided to go Subway. I went to an outlet where I'm a regular customer. When I arrived, I could smell the freshly baked bread. I thought to myself, "yeah, freshly baked bread". As I was just to make my order, the lady told me they ran out of bread. I in turned enquired and pointed out, "what is all this then, isn't this bread?". She told me the bread is to be delivered to another outlet. I was outraged. I thought all outlets have their own baking machines. Why must another branch bake for another?. And I am just one customer, don't tell me you can't serve me. I then left and thanked them loudly for the inability to serve one of their regulars.
I then vowed on twitter and facebook, that Subway has lost one of their regular customers. I know I'm being harsh because it is only one outlet, but for me, it just happened at the wrong time. While crossing the road to the Subway, a car ran over my feet. It was a red light for motorists and they somehow did not see people walking and crossing the road. And so, since then I haven't dined at Subway. It wouldn't teach them a lesson anyways, because they only lost one customer out of the million customers they have. Losing me as a customer would not effect their business revenues in any way. The Mrs in turn is relieved that my first suggestion for food is Subway sandwiches.
Next is my regular futsal and basketball joints.
For futsal, we have been regulars at this futsal joint for the past 8 years. I join 3 sessions there on Tuesday, Friday (though optional and cameo only) and Saturday.
Last Saturday we were asked to start later, at 5:20pm instead of at 5:00pm. The management cited the previous group started late. I said I was having none of it. They started late, that is their problem. My team knows the game is at 5 and they are all ready by 5 to 5. This is called time management. I got into a row with the group, telling them that they should manage their time properly. I told them, if there is no session after yours, then by all means, extend your playing time. But my session has been block-booked since 2004. We have been playing here way before they came. If you told me 5 more minutes maybe I can understand, but 20 minutes - no *bleep*-ing way. Told them we all have plans after the game, some have dinners or family events to attend and in my case go back to bathe my son. Maybe 20 minutes to you is nothing, but for me its very precious. In the end, the owner of the joint came in and told them to continue playing on another court.
Last night it was our basketball's joint to make a mess of things. The group has been playing since 2008 with a block-booked slot for Wednesday nights at 9:00pm. Last night they told us to start at 9:30pm. The previous week they messed up our 2-hour slot by double booking the 8-9 hour. So last night I gave them a piece of my mind (despite the fact I'm not the organizer for this session). I totally lost it when the guy told us that extending sessions is normal, since some people start late. I gave him the same earful as I did on Saturday. We also stated that this session has been block-booked since 2008, and the group before us only started playing last month. That group booked from 7:30pm to 9:00pm, but only came to play at 8:35pm. Well whose fault is that? In the end, I think the guy couldn't take it and when his boss arrived he ran away. The boss then said he did not authorize for the group to extend. So I guess the guy was messing around with the bookings.
Yes people, I do get angry when people mess around with my time.

Monday, January 9, 2012

The one with a great goal

Last Saturday was the first futsal saturday kick-off. Finished with 4 goals and 2 assists.
My first, was a personal favourite and one I enjoyed and also my friends 2 sons who were watching the game.
My teammate Kaleon chipped a corner to me, I controlled it with my right knee, brought it down and switched the ball to my left and hammered the ball home. Great goal where i wished ESPN was there to catch it for their Plays-of-the-Day.
Here's to more beautiful goals.

Wednesday, January 4, 2012

The one with the first futsal game of 2012

Kicked off my futsaling activities last night. First game for 2012 and first futsal Tuesday kickoff for the year.
A very open game with plenty of end-to-end action. Goals galore since no one really cared about defence. I lost track of the final score.
I bagged a hat-trick and also laid out one assist. The first was simple enough, I collected a through-pass from Shanaz and side-footed the ball through the keepers legs. The second was an ESPN worthy highlight. Collected the ball in my own half, dribbled the ball all the way to goal beating everyone. Managed to squeeze in a shot when I stumbled after the keeper saved my initial shot. My third was scrappy. A goal-mouth scramble after I hit the post from a yard. My assist was a defensive clearance to Nasim who banged it home.
A good fun game overall.

Tuesday, January 3, 2012

The one with the year that was 2011

Happy 2012 people. May the new year bring you health and happiness.
Planning to post a review of my 2011. No outline of how I'm going to write this, so I'll just write as I go along.
First the main highlight of the year. The birth of my son, Aidan Danial. He came to this world on 5th September 2011 at 6.06pm. He came in weighing in at 2.65kg and 47cm in length. He will be 4 months in a couple of days, and the last check-up before Christmas he weighed 6.1kg and grew to 60cm in length.
On the sporting front, this year was the first year I decided to keep track of my stats in futsal and basketball. Yes, after all these years of playing and I've only decided to keep track of my stats when I'm past my prime.
In futsal I played a total of 64 games (eat your heart out you overpaid-footballers-who-say-you-play-too-many-games). In those 64 games, I racked up 108 goals and 112 assists, averaging 1.7 goals and 1.8 assists a game.
I've participated in 2 futsal tournaments. The KHR-organized tournament was ill-fated but the EPL supporters club fared better for me.
In basketball I've made 32 appearances and averaged 7.1 points, 15.1 rebounds, 6.9 assists, 1.4 blocks and 2 steals a game.
While I didn't keep track of my tennis stats, I did feel this was the year I improved. I felt I stalled in 2010, but think I got it together in 2011. It might not be on Roger Federer's level, but enough for me to enjoy the game.
Career wise, this year was a lost and wasted year. Nuff said.
For my beloved Spurs, 2011 was a roller coaster with plenty of ups and downs. Among the highlights was reaching the Elite-8 of the Champions League and being 3rd in the league going into 2012. The low-points was missing out of the Champions League as well as too-many dropped points in games where we should be winning especially when our rivals have lost. My player of 2011 is Luka Modric, followed closely by Gareth Bale.
A lesson I learned in 2011 was finding out who my friends are. And this was a majority of friends from when I was working in the treasury line. It seems after I left the line, I was discarded and cast aside. Only one person from the line remained a true friend. The rest, just choose to forget me. It was obvious they only needed me for business relations and nothing else. Even during the days leading to the 'decision' a lot of them called me up, but then stopped calling after I didn't take my talents to the 13th floor.
2011 was a mixed year, with the birth of my son being the highlight. May 2012 be better than 2011.

Monday, December 12, 2011

The one with the EPL Supporters Club Futsal Tournament


Last Saturday 10th December 2011, was the EPL supporters club futsal tournament. I was selected to represent the Malaysia Spurs futsal team. This event is arranged by the EPL official supporters clubs in Malaysia. Five team participated in this event - Spurs, Newcastle, Man Utd, Liverpool and Arsenal. To my surprise, Chelsea, Man City and Blackburn were missing.
The Spurs contingent was merry as ever, similar to the Newcastle crowd. Arsenal were pretty much quiet while Liverpool and Man Utd as expected had a large following. All teams kept a friendly banter among each other, but it was nice to see Spurs and Newcastle getting along really well. I believe this is due to the fact we invited Newcastle fans to come watch the Newcastle-Spurs game at our home viewing joint a couple of months back. Safe to say we became good friends since then. Also due to the similarity that our fan-base is loyal unlike glory-hunters who support red teams or whoever is winning or whoever is richer.
The Spurs squad consisted mostly of experienced players, while other teams had youth on their side. We had Hisham VP as our goalkeeper, Craig our captain, Hisham Talib, Shahrul, Syazwan, Suria, Sharmel, Ean, Amir, Leonard and myself.
Our first game pitted Spurs against our arch-rivals Arsenal. We lost that game 0-1. Our second game was against Man Utd. Hisham Talib gave us a early lead. Suria scored the second goal which was assisted by me. The win came with a price, our youngest player Syazwan dislocated his shoulder in a collision with a Man Utd player. We lost our 3rd game to Liverpool 0-3. All their goals came in the 2nd half. We controlled the game in the first half. I hit the crossbar after some nice piece of skill and hit the post with a long-range blockbuster. We narrowly lost our last game against Newcastle 1-2. Leonard scored our goal from the penalty spot.
Overall group standings we were 4th, edging Man Utd on goal difference. We were pitted against Newcastle in a game for 3rd place.
The 3rd placing game was a tight affair. I for one had a chance to win. I received the ball in space and fired home a blockbuster which was inches over the bar. The game ended 0-0 and went to penalties. Leonard missed our first kick, which came off the bar. Hisham VP saved Newcastle's first spot attempt. Craig scored our 2nd kick and Newcastle scored theirs. Shahrul scored the 3rd. Newcastle missed their spot kick and we won the shootout 2-1. Good for 3rd place.
The final was between Liverpool and Arsenal, which Liverpool won 5-1.
A good outing for Spurs, being first timers playing in a tournament together.


standing L-R : Leonard, Craig, Hisham VP, Ean, Feiszal
sitting L-R : Suria, Syazwan, Amir, Shahrul, Hisham Talib

Friday, July 8, 2011

The one with the disastrous futsal tournament

Last Saturday, 2 July 2011, we entered the 3rd KHRSC Futsal Tournament. This being our third time entering the tournament. After reaching the quarter-finals last year, we felt good about our chances.

We retain the team name 'I Love Papaya' and with one change to last year's line-up. Captain Farrish's brother-in-law came in to replace Meor. Our starting-5 looked good on paper (as always) - Shareza as our keeper, Shanaz, Yusuf, Badrul and Farris on the court. Me, Reza and Farrish were part of the bench mob.

Our first game was against Rentas FC. We led the game 1-0 at halftime. Then mid-way through the second half, I came in to spell Farris. After I came in, they scored 3 against us and we lost 1-4. The whole team collapsed and it was all my fault.

The second game we were up against AOFC, and got served 0-5. And with our exit confirmed, I started the last game against Salehin FC and we lost 0-3 in that one.

As for our reasons on why we fared so poorly. I guess there were a lot of factors. First was we were not use to the blue rubber court, our usual home court is grass. Second, we didn't have any training together. Even though we play on a weekly basis, the teams are mixed and the games were a whole lot casual.

A tournament to forget, which all started when I took the floor.

Sunday, June 27, 2010

The one with the futsal tournament

The futsal Saturday group entered a tournament organized by KHR. Another stab at the tournament we entered last year. A different lineup from last year, as it was fully represented by the futsal Saturday group. Our team name was I Love Papaya. The line this year in adidas mode was :
Shareza - every team needs the goalkeeper
Farrish (captain) - every team needs the player in the most important position
Badrul - every team needs the libero
Meor - every team needs the stabilizer
Reza - every team needs the goalscorer
Farris - every team needs the link
Shanaz - every team needs the player to write the future
Faisal - every team needs the Spurs fan

We were pitted in group B with Aftaas, MBSB (B) and AFC. A manageable group for us to deal with. Before kick-off we were briefed by the referees on the rules. One thing that sticks out was 'don't argue with the ref, its a yellow card offence'.
First game was against Aftaas, which we lost 0-2. Starters were Shareza, Badrul, Farris, Shanaz and Reza. We were out of sorts in this game. Our positioning and ball movement was out of sync. There was hope when myself and Meor entered the fray with the score 0-1. Meor crossed the ball to me in open space, 5 yards from an open goal. You would have put money on me to bang that one in for the equalizer, yet I missed as it went over the bar. Not a good start, but still there was a chance to get it right.
Next up was MBSB (B) which we won 2-1 and getting our tournament back on track. A brace by Reza put us up early in a game which we controlled. We had numerous chances to add to the tally, but failed to do so. I had a brief appearance in this game as I barely lasted 10 seconds. Trying to make a defensive block with the scores at 1-2, I fell on my back and my head hit the floor. I was still good, but opted to step and not risk any further injury.
Our last group game was against AFC (not sure if its Asian Food Channel). We went down early, but displayed fight to get back into the game. Shanaz equalized for us, Badrul scored from a tight angle and Meor scored the goal of the tournament (in our book anyway). He volleyed it home from a kick-in by Badrul. All smiles after that as we managed to qualify for the quarter finals, which was better than last year where we didn't get out of the group stage.
Next was our quarter-final match up with the defending champions KKJK Hasil. A team from the IRB. We were down 1 in the first 10 seconds or so. And we just couldn't get a hold of the game. They held the ball well and we were left chasing the ball. Kinda like playing against Barcelona. I had one chance to score in another cameo, but instead of passing it to Farrish, I decided to go for it myself. In the end, we lost 0-3.
We would have loved to go further, but it was not to be. Still we had fun. One thing I noticed from this tournament is that all the teams belong to a corporation or a group of regular tournament players. Our team was a group of social players who just play for fun and exercise.
Also, this tournament was my last game, before I take a break from contact sports. Need to prepare for another big event in July.

Wednesday, June 10, 2009

The one with the tale of two futsal groups

In an attempt to exercise and find more playing time, I decided to make a U-turn on my decision to quit the futsal Tuesday group. Since I no longer organize, I informed my decision to the new joint-arrangers.
They seem to accept my decision as they don't have beef with me. But when the others found out, it was not well received. I even received a text from a friend advising me not to come. He said some malicious things were said about me in the emails. As a responsible person I inform the joint-organizers on my decision not to come. Wouldn't want to keep people waiting on me only for a no-show.
One of the organizers called me saying that he would love for me to return. He enjoys watching me play as I am the only player from the group who knows how to pass. Pass here meaning passing the ball around to keep the game flowing. The other players definition of pass is get rid of the ball in the last minute when they realize they can't do anything. I do make a lot of players look good as I can set them up for goalscoring opportunities.
I appreciated his call and the fact he wants me to return. I honestly want to return. But the others wouldn't embrace me (not like they ever did, since I do not come from the upper class like most of them). Seems my decision to return was not such a good idea. Besides, diplomatically, I shouldn't have left in the first place. Guess to these guys once you are out, you are out.
No worries as I do have other sessions which I can participate, like the Wednesday group. Earlier when I join the group it wasn't easy. Their level of play was on a higher level. They are a close knit group so to join them I had to prove myself. Not sure if I fully proved myself but I know they can accept my style of play, even at times I play too fast. Besides this group now is a beneficiary of my defence-splitting passes.
In the early days I deferred to them as all are better players than me. But they encouraged me to express myself. They know what I'm capable of which at times is breath-taking. The one thing I like about this group is team work. Which is way better than Tuesday.
The group itself loves to pass. The togetherness is there. They even have group on facebook. This is a group that really loves to play for fun. Unlike the Tuesday group which claim the same thing.
So now I have futsal Wednesday and Saturday as my favourite sessions.

Wednesday, May 20, 2009

The one with the fact that I can

This will be a very arrogant post. It will be about my (un)matched brilliance. This is about the star that I am.
The fact that I quit the futsal Tuesday group was not well received. Mainly my decision seem rash and over-reacting. Yet they do no know that I've been patient for a very long time.
First remark I receive is that I am not well liked because I 'dive' and retaliate against harmless challenges. Don't really see why though because the majority of the group are manyoo fans and worship some Portugeezer name Christiano. I admit in my early days in the group I retaliate and sulked and moped every time I feel I get treated harshly. These days I really tone down my game. I play a more calmer relaxed role and don't have the need to dribble pass half-a-dozen players and score another wonder goal for the highlight reel. Even though I know I can.
I do receive a major share of knocks compared to others. Mainly because I'm too good and too fast for the old geezers. And their defence for taking me out, "my timing is off and 'accidentally' came in too late". Like I don't know you have your own set of rules against me. I don't see anyone else receiving the same treatment as me. Every time I receive the ball half the opposition comes charging in without any intention of winning the ball.
I really changed my game in order to have fun. I realized at the end of the day its just a game we play for fun as well as for the exercise. I don't lash out after being tackled, I have the balance to stay on my feet and I have better game play vision and judgement.
But now its the same people who didn't like my attitude being the ones turning into me in my early days minus the skills and flair and vision and pace (I can go on but you know I am THAT good). They are the ones who lash out when I FAIRLY won the ball from them. They are the ones who no longer make the game fun.
And secondly some have a problem with my goal celebrations. Seriously I can't believe that. I don't know what they hate most the fact that I scored another highlight reel goal or the fact I made them look utterly stupid by scoring that goal. Its natural for footballers to reel off in delight when they score a goal. Its makes the game fun. I can even make up a catalogue or tutorial classes on how to celebrate a goal. So some of my celebrations display sheer arrogance. Well its mainly because I can. Look at the French dude who currently plays with Barcelona wearing that sacred no 14 jersey. His celebrations are of pure arrogance, but only because he scored a goal only he can score and because he can.
So at the end of the day, my style of play is not appreciated. My efforts for helping to organize are not appreciated. I get no protection and am not embraced as one of them. I'm still the outsider in the group. And you still want me to play come back?

Sunday, May 17, 2009

The one with the futsal fracas

Realized I haven't posted anything in May. A lot has happened in between. And as my last post stated my injury, the latest update is I'm fully healed and back on the courts.
But there will be one futsal session I will no longer grace with my flair and flamboyance. I've decided to call my time on the Tuesday session. The first session I join when I started my futsal career in 2002. We've been playing for 7 years together but one moment of madness made me realize that my time with the group is up. Farrish quit the group way earlier, Shareza quit the group last week and his brother Shanaz will join suit as he will only play if I play.
As to what happened. Well it has been boiling for quite some time. The games getting way to physical and also a whole less fun. No longer the embodiment of joga bonito. Flair players such as myself are victims to malicious tackles. Cronyism is obvious. I've been playing with them for seven years, even took it upon myself to organize and try to recruit players to make up the numbers when short, but still they haven't embraced me as one of them (not that I want to anyway). 
Even lately the weekly lineup is those who are loyal to me against them. As usual, my group ran rings around them with our sexy-football play, and for them to counter our threat (which is a joy to watch by the public) they use physical force which results to injuries. I for one want to fight back, as they all been through multiple surgeries and I know I can send them back to the hospital if I want to.
As for the events of last weeks session. As usual the game got physical. I was off-form and played a more defensive role. I made one defensive clearance. One guy got hit via my follow through and another teammate of mine got him too, which was the cause of his outrage. And me being the outsider, half the opponents came charging to me wanting a piece of me. I did not appreciate this at all, as I won the ball first and the ball was one the other side of the field when the incident happened. After that, no one had the mood to play. Seven years came down to this.
After the game, I mention my intention to leave the team to those close to me. They too share the same view. I've been patient too long. I continue playing because I need the exercise and I don't know what else to do with my time. But my time with the Tuesday group has ended now.
What now? Well trying to get the tennis Thursday guys to play tennis Tuesday now. And maybe I can refocus on the Wednesday group. As I have been relegated to reserve team now, so I want to fight back for my place. And my Saturday group pretty much intact and that's always a fun session.

Saturday, April 25, 2009

The one with the ill-fated futsal tournament

Good day people. Took part in a futsal tournament organized by KHR (some audit firm) at Sportsplanet Ampang.
For one we had the quality to go far. Two friends from my Saturday group joined the team. Badrul as our goalkeeper and Reza as our striker. The others are from the KAG tournament team - Aizat, Farrish, Shahril, Shareza, Wira and myself. Sadly we were ousted in the group stages with only one draw and two losses. We scored a total of two goals (courtesy of Reza and myself) and conceded 4 goals. Games were tight, but we should have taken the first two games.
Prior to the tourney, our team was already kinda depleted. I was still sick. Farrish had an injured arm. Aizat and Shareza had stomach problems. Not a good sign.
For the first game, we played the host team. I played an unfamiliar deep role again. I had space to fire a shot, and it left my foot like a bullet. The keeper did well the stop it but it spilled to Reza for our first goal of the tourney. We pulled off our newly rehearsed goal celebration after that. Later they equalized, it was a cheap goal to give away. A defensive error on my end led to the goal. After that goal, as I was making a defensive header I got kicked/whacked on the stomach. I had to withdraw from the game after that. We held on for the draw, but we knew we should have taken the game.
The second game didn't really go according to plan as well. Another defensive error by me led to the goal. We were unlucky to hit the post once and unlucky when Reza had a clear shot, only for the keeper to stick out his hand and save it.
Our final game was against the eventual group champions. We changed our strategy for the game. Fielding the 5 from Saturday's group. Shareza played in goal this time, Farrish and Badrul at defence, Reza as striker and me in my favoured position in the 'hole'. It worked well. I was feeding passes to Reza just like Tuesday and Saturday's sessions. Only this time his finishing touch deserted him. Then the turning point, Shareza was red carded for reasons I still wasn't clear of. They scored from the resulting free kick. They scored again and we were 2 down. I finally had a goal in the end. A goalmouth scramble fell the ball to me. And i just rammed it home. My goal celebration said it all, as it was a frustrating tourney for me. We lost in the end 1-2 and were sent packing.
A lot of 'what ifs' in the tourney.

back (l-r) - badrul, shareza, farrish, reza, faisal
front (l-r) aizat, wira, shahril

Tuesday, April 21, 2009

The one where I need a new hobby

Just got back from another great game of futsal. But before the game, had a chat with Shareza. We both agree that the numbers for the Tuesday session is way out of hand.
There are times where I feel I don't want to play as the numbers doesn't allow me to play my usual game. Lately for the Tuesday sessions I find myself sacrificing my offensive game and talents for a defensive role. Mainly to protect myself from malicious tackles since whoever gets the ball, will be surrounded have 3 or 4 defenders. Still I dictate the game by reinventing myself for the game.
Anyways, that wasn't really the idea for this post. As I mention, sometimes I don't feel like playing as the court is overcrowded. But I need to play, mainly because I have nothing else better to do after work. If not, I would be at home playing with my niece, online on facebook and gtalk or watch some dvds.
So Shareza suggested I pick up a new hobby. Something which will help fill the hours. Then I thought photography would be an interesting idea. It is something I do have an interest in. An idea and interest I should explore.
Well my brother-in-law suggested I join him in the toys scene. Collect action figures or build toys from model kits. Not sure if I have the patience to build one. It requires a high level of concentration and patience. Something I don't really have, which is why I don't play golf.
Anyways, any ideas?

Sunday, April 12, 2009

The one with a great show

I believe the me who karaokes with a reckless abandon is back. Participated in a performance for the ages. One which had me sweating till my shirt soaked.
Pulled off a variety of genres. Pulled off a series of dance moves. I do hope everyone enjoyed the show. But I'm not a one-man show. The whole group made it fun. And with some newcomers, we showed them our brand of entertainment. Proved our versatility with rock and pop numbers especially boyband numbers. Since we had to dance along to it.
Wondered how to play futsal after that, but still had a great game. Wide open game, free-flowing futsal with a whole lot of goals.
Also managed to catch He's Just Not That Into You. An enjoyable movie for me. Some lessons learnt and I should really put them to practice.
So how was your weekend?


Sunday, January 4, 2009

The one where 2009 begins

A great start to the year. I'm on a roll. But being 'Mr-the-glass-is-half-empty', I will be brought back down to earth with a loud thud tomorrow. Reason being, my first working day for 2009. Now to continue where I left off after tennis.
So went for my first movie for 2009. Went for Bedtime Stories. A movie which I enjoyed and even though it was a typical feel good Disney movie. Loved the humour and jokes both Adam Sandler and Russell Brand brought to the show. And I never thought I see Russell Brand starring in a Disney movie.
After tennis kicked off the year for me, futsal resumed as usual. The Saturday group started what would be the 7th year (I think) of the group. Can't believe we've been playing that long. Had a great game, and was in full flow, especially when you have teammates who are in the same wavelength. Banged in a number of goals for good measure, mostly finishing after some a breathtaking buildup.
The highlight of the weekend for me was Mamma Mia! Finally managed to catch the show. Actually, my friend Elina had a spare ticket and asked if I wanted to go. Well somethings you don't need to ask twice. So her friends loss was my gain. Since I myself couldn't get tickets. The show itself was a joy to behold. And at times (okay, all the time) I was singing along to songs. The audience itself enjoyed themselves as well as the cast. But who wouldn't, the energy was contagious.
Finally for my 2009 resolutions. Not that I made any, but for arguments sake I did. Mainly to be more of a 'yes man' and go out and try new experiences. And also, I want to try and settle down with someone. Or at least be in a steady relationship. Which itself could be a challenge for any other year.
Well lets see how the year pans out.

Sunday, December 14, 2008

The one with the futsal tournament

Been a while since my last post. Things as usual haven't been all good. But nothing new there.
Anyways, yesterday I played in the Kelab Ambank Group (KAG) futsal tournament at Sports Planet Subang Grand. Been a while since my last tournament. Last I think was a couple of years back, when I played in the inter-Clark Hatch tournament.
This year around, I joined my friends in the internal audit department to form a team. For the men's open category, there were 32 teams divided into 8 groups of 4. Being our first tournament and first time playing together, we were happy if we made it out of the group phase.
I for one, was asked to play a defensive role. Not a role I fancied, but for the sake of the team, we all had to do our part. And I felt I did quite well especially in the first game, where nothing went past me.
I don't recall our opponents names, but for our first game, we won 2-0. And i had the honour of blasting our first goal in the tourney with a half-court blockbuster. That sent the team and crowd nuts.
Our second game, was a total collapse. Our star player was taken out with and ankle injury. And the whole team structure fell after that. We lost 1-6. We were outplayed in that game, and my lack of defensive instincts were exposed.
Our third and final group game was a do-or-die game. If we win, we advance, if we lost, we can pack our gear and head home. We won the game 3-2, and we could have won by a higher margin, but we hit the woodwork a lot. With that wine we advanced to the sweet sixteen (round of 16).
Our last game, was played at my familiar court. The court where my Wednesday group plays. But even that didn't help much as we lost 2-7. I scored another blockbuster to make the scores 1-2 to give hope to the team. But we were outgunned again. We won some fans during the tournament, probably due to our nice kit.
A good effort overall for first timers. Finished the tournament with 2 goals and some valuable experience.

back (l-r) - reza, farrish, wira, fatta, shahril, chris
front (l-r) - aizat, faisal

* picture courtesy of reza's facebook


Monday, November 3, 2008

The one where I could use a break...from futsal

Again I apologize for another disappearance. Things have been chaotic at work and home. And what do I do to clear my head, even for a while. Run around like a headless chicken on the futsal court.
As of last Saturday, I've played 8 games in the space of 12 days. Two straight weeks of playing on Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday. And since I do have issues, I went all out on those games. Was beginning to suffer loss of form by last Friday and last Saturday totally off-form. Also was beginning to have back problems since last Wednesday.
So for the first time in a while, I will give futsal Tuesday a miss (much to the shock of my fellow teammates). Ending a run of God knows how many consecutive appearances. Not that I don't want to play, but could use a different social activity. But I will keep my gear in the car in case the event is canceled.
So I probably sit out for one game and be back hopefully for Wednesday's session. In case you are wondering, all these sessions are with different groups. So I'm the only one without a social life free enough to join all the sessions.
Also, can't wait for Quantum of Solace to come out. Been a while since we had a blockbuster.

Sunday, September 14, 2008

The one with futsal Ramadhan

An overdue post here. Since now two futsal Ramadhan Fridays have passed. Two interesting and fun games for me. Really in the groove, especially last Friday's session.
For the first Friday kick-off, we had a large group - 14 players. We played seven-a-side, as we only had one hour so splitting into three times would mean some players would not get their playing time. Managed a goal via some sexy-futsal link-up.
On another note, I suffered cramps on both my calves towards the end of the game. First to go was my left leg. Felt it after making a clearance. Manage to shake it off. As for my right leg, it happened as I was about to shoot for goal after dribbling pass 3 players.
Last Friday's game was a goal-fest. I banged in 4 goals. And all was like one after the other. Just started scoring on a roll. And this game I suffered no cramps. Normal service was resumed.
Sadly one thing from both games. All my passes were totally off. I kept passing to the opponents. Sometimes my passes are miles away from my intended target.
At least I'm getting some exercise.

Saturday, August 30, 2008

The one with a great futsal game

Last game for the Saturday group before the fasting month. And I'm happy to say I picked up where I left off from Tuesday. Signs of returning to form, or at least at a level where I'm having fun.
My side played a very energetic performance. We played and the manner that we've always envisioned. Fluid movement and passing. And we could have scored more had our finishing been better. I myself had a couple of goals and some assists. Sadly I was denied by the woodwork twice and had both attempts went in, it would definitely made ESPN's Top Ten Plays of the Day. My teammates all played their roles well. It was a joy to play with that team.
Next game, next Friday as futsal Ramadhan kicks off.


Tuesday, August 26, 2008

The one with a great game of futsal

Finally had a great game. A game which I really need. I had my wonder goals, super assists, almost precise passing and good field command. And also I sent off one of my teammates for dissent.
First the player I sent off. Well he was causing friction within the team and the game was total chaos. As me, mis-using my organizer privileges asked him to leave the field. I was on a roll and I didn't mind playing one player short as like I said, I was on a roll. After he left, the game turn out for the better. He hogged the ball a lot. So after his exit, we played a whole lot better. Pass the ball better. Had great rhythm. It was a joy to play and a joy for those watching.
As for my wonder goals. Had two of them today. First was a solo effort against a player as tall as me. So we matched each other in terms of pace and build. We were challenging each other on my favourite left wing. Manage to get a shot off and the end of it which went it. The celebration, a cross between arrogance and genius. Second goal, a scissors kick which I set up from a pass with one flick. Celebrated that goal in the same manner as the first.
The group will still play during the fasting month, but start at a later time. And as previous years show, I play my best during the fasting month. Maybe because I'm lighter.